The Challenge.

November 15, 2009 at 11:02 am (Miss Refined International, MRI blogs) (, , , , , , , , , , , , )

Well I have been working on the Challenge to beat all Challenges today with the Miss Refined contest. It has really taken it out of me this week thinking about the business side and aspect of the second part of this challenge. Here is the second part to the challenge…

Develop and submit a 10 point (concepts) marketing plan for the blog you created in challenge 1. You must use at least one marketing E-Book purchased from http://www.kissmyebook.com and you must provide in your plan, the title of the E-Book(s) used and page number(s) where you found the information.

I must say this teacher mind does not really have the business acumen that many others probably have. I had to really research what this topic was all about. I told a friend I have no idea what I am doing but I will give it my best try. I think the hard part which is really quite interesting is that I have no idea to what the term ’10 Point Marketing Plan’ means as the terminology that say Australia and the UK will use might be slightly different to what the US use. A friend mentioned well isnt it all english lol Sure it is but essentially we use different terms in different english speaking countries for different things 🙂
Say for example you want something sweet to eat. In the USA it is candy whilst in Australia we call them lolliles and in UK we call them sweeties 🙂
So really all the same thing just different terms. Same with fizzy drink, pop, lollywater, soda or softdrinks or the other host of names for describing a carbonated flavoured drink. Don not even get me started on flipflops, thongs and scuffs !!! I talked before about different languages and the need starting for us all to learn a language but in essence we are doing that every day in SL when we come across different english speaking people. Just luckily for us we can communicate to make the connections in these differences. So….. basically before I started the challenge I had to really define what the words meant so that I knew what I was talking about. The truth being is I think I know but if I actually know that will be a minor miracle. LOL So with my ideas in hand I set about doing the challenge. I had to devise what would be the steps I would need to follow in order to Market my Blog a bit better to get it to the masses. After trawling through some ebooks as asked to buy and download and doing a little investigation work I think I finally arrived at my top 10. I must say it was very hard to limit it at 10. But I do think like everything this is a plan for the now and once some or all of the goals have reached then I need to redo the plan to include some other ideas 🙂 So that was what I basically based it on and sent off my Challenge 2 to Jason at MPI. Lord knows I am nervous and I have no idea how I went. It would be lovely to get feedback so if any of you business types ever get a chance to read my blog. Let me know how close to the mark I got with the plan. I will include the steps below and run and hide before someone tells me I have completely ballsed it up 🙂

1. Make sure that I obtain a stand alone domain name from wordpress so that it becomes more prominent to people.
2. Optimize the blog that has been created in wordpress. Make sure the style and the plugins suit the style of the blog and the target group it is for. (Pg 10/11)
3. To ensure that trackbacks and pings have been included to link to other blogs and important sites.
4. Setup a Google account for Sitemap.
5. Identify authoritative blogs, web sites and hubs for outbound resource links and blogroll. (Pg8 )
6. Build up online networks through services such as MyBlogLog, Twitter and Facebook and use them to promote particularly useful content on your blog.
7. Enable statistics for tracking – Google Analytics, ClickTracks.
8. Submit RSS feed and Blog URL to prominent RSS and Blog directories / search engines (Pg 20/21)
9. Identify authoritative blogs, web sites and hubs for outbound resource links and blogroll. Submit blog url to paid directories with categories for blogs like Yahoo, MSN. (Pg 22/23)
10. Monitor inbound links, traffic, comments and mentions of your blog – Google Alerts, Technorati, Blogpulse, Yahoo News, Ask Blogs and Feeds.

Not sure how it will go 🙂
Fingers crossed
TTYL

Keeley~~~~~~~~~~~~~@

Leave a Reply

