Challenge 3 : Interview for Catalyst of Fantasy Magazine.

November 22, 2009 at 9:16 pm (Miss Refined International, MRI blogs) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , )

Firstly I just would like to take the time to say thank you so much to Noa Daffyd a fantastic person all round for allowing me the option of doing a real interview for my Challenge. It was lovely using a real live interview as the basis for this challenge.

“I like to keep true to my ideals as a person”
Written by Noa Daffyd, writer for Catalyst of Fantasy Magazine

The Miss Refined International contest is in full swing. Through all the heavy challenges, Miss Keeley Cooperstone made some time to speak with the Catalyst of Fantasy Magazine. We found out that this Miss isn’t only beauty. She also has brains and a warm heart.

*Miss Keeley Cooperstone can you tell us something about you?*
I am fairly new into the fashion industry, but I have been educating myself in as many aspects of SL as possible. I have developed not only a bit of my building skills, but photography as well. I see it as a huge learning curve that is only the start of what I want to achieve. So far I have been trained by one agency, but I ‘m about to finish training at Fashion Institute. This has helped me to develop my skills even more. Through this I have met some of the industries greatest teachers and models. Through listening to them and asking advice I think I’ve learned more then I ever could learn on the runway or in a studio.

*What do you want to achieve as a model?*
I want to be good enough that I can say that I’ve walked for the best designers, but still have managed to keep grounded as a person. When I’ve reached that I want to pass on what I learn to other aspiring models.

*Would winning Miss Refined International be one of those achievements?*
Competing in Miss Refined International already is an achievement for me. When the competition came along, I had barely graduated from Modelpages International. As nervous as I was, I walked down the runway with my hands shaking on the keyboard. It was my first official casting and I tried my best in front of the judges. I was lucky enough to be selected from the thirty girls that applied in September!

*You’ve came really far, how?*
I think an element of it has to be luck or fate, being in the right place and right time. But also the right outfit, hair and the right competition. I thought really long and hard about my styling and the poses I could use. I hope that through that and through my written application they saw I was serious and committed. I was determined and able to walk against some of the best models.

*Why did you enter the contest for Miss Refined International?*
The main reason was to prove to myself. I wanted to see if i had what it took while being under pressure by a judge. If I crumble too easily, I wouldn’t be made out of the tough material that all models need to be.

*How do you judge your chances against the other contestants?*
I think we all have a chance, but the important thing is to remain focused and to always try your best. For me that’s been my motto the whole way through. I feel that is what will help me in the end. To keep true to myself to make sure that I do my best. I do have a great fondness for many of my competitors and we all have crossed paths at some stage. But again it is a competition and we all have to focus on what we are here for.

*Obvious you came for winning the crown. You have to do some challenges for that, how did they go so far?*
You never expect to write a business plan for a competition. Or to write a blog two times a day for a whole week and maintain that for a month. But I think I have taken them on board quite well and I now enjoy my blogging. The business side opened up a new door for me and I did get to learn more about promoting myself. For some that is a huge effort, but I managed to apply it to me. I am quite impressed that the contest is also about other aspects then looking lovely. It challenges the brain as well.

*One of the challenges was to fake an interview, why did you chose to do it with a real SL writer?*
I hoped that by using a real SL writer, I would have a more authentic account of my thoughts. It would have been very easy to write what I wanted, but how would that show the commitment that I feel? I also felt that doing an interview with a real writer would enable me to experience to be a spokesmodel for Miss Refined International.

*What are you willing to do to win?*
I like to keep true to my ideals as a person. I try not to compromise my beliefs. It is important to have a hunger to win, but not at all costs. I would be prepared to do what I need, but within the boundaries of decency and with others in mind. You won’t see any knee knobbling here. I want to be chosen for the right reasons. As the title says its for Miss Refined and for me that means someone who is elegant and suggested taste. Who also showed and has good feelings, one who was not vulgar and/or displayed no impurities. I want to emulate the meaning of refined and in doing that I do not have to trample or upset anyone

*What would it do to you if you won?*
It would be a great step to what I want to achieve. Not only would it bring me some more notoriety, but it also allows me to share with others what I’ve learned. I hope it shows people that you don’t have to be rude, aggressive and nasty to get where you want. Kindness and consideration as well as sharing helps us all. That’s how I want my career in modeling to go.

*The final question, why are you Miss Refined International ’10?*
I am Miss Refined International because the judges recognised that I have developed, changed and challenged myself along the way. In doing this I still remained who I am as a person.

TTYL

Keeley ~~~~~~~~~~@

Leave a Reply

